Contact

SOUTH CAROLINA HARM REDUCTION COALITION

Contact

Executive Director
Michael-Devereux Louis Bertin
michael@southcarolinahrc.org
(843) 810-5115

Director of Client Services
Julie Walworth
julie@southcarolinahrc.org
(843) 607-1541

Director of Operations
Ryan Kaufmann
ryan@southcarolinahrc.org
(843) 822-8902

Director of Policy
Daniel Miles
daniel@southcarolinahrc.org
(919) 710-1817

Director of Outreach
Brittany Vannort
brittany@southcarolinahrc.org
(803) 665-0152

Director of Recovery
John Mahon
john@southcarolinahrc.org
(843) 324-6602

SCHRC logo

Latest News

O.D. deaths chart
S.C. teen who died of heroin overdose was never offered key addiction treatment

"Ashlyn died six months ago at the age of 18, about a year-and-a-half after trying heroin for the first time, never having tried an outpatient, medication-based treatment program that experts agree should always be presented as an option to opioid-addicted patients."

Read more
Surgeon General discussing Narcan distribution
S.G. Urges Americans to Carry Drug That Stops Opioid Overdoses

"The United States Surgeon General, Dr. Jerome M. Adams, issued a national advisory Thursday urging more Americans to keep on hand and learn how to use the drug naloxone, which can save the lives of people overdosing on opioids. Naloxone has already revived thousands of overdose victims..."

Read more
S.C. O.D. death chart
Bill would give wider access to narcan in South Carolina

"A bill which would give easier access to opioid antidotes, like narcan, has moved on to the South Carolina State Senate. 'The goal is to save lives and to get people into recovery... this bill allows approved community organizations to give out narcan, to people who need it who are going through addiction.'"

Read more